Marshall Islands Politics and Economy
Flag and seal of the Republic of the Marshall Islands



The deep blue background represents the Pacific Ocean. The white and orange bands represent the Ratak (Sunrise) and Ralik (Sunset) chains, respectively. The customary symbolism of orange as the color of bravery and white as the color of peace are also recognized.

The star represents the cross of Christianity, with each of the 24 points signifying a municipal district of the RMI. The four main points represent the major centers of Majuro, Kwajalein, Jaluit and Wotje.

The official flag is at an aspect ratio of 2:1.


Flag of the Republic of the Marshall Islands


The central feature of the Seal is the stylized Angel of Peace (and a reference to Christianity) depicted with outstretched wings. Above the Angel is 24 point star representing the 21 municipalities of the Republic of the Marshall Islands; the four longer rays represent the 4 sub-centers of Majuro (the capital), Jaluit, Wotje, and Kwajalein Atolls. The star is flanked by the rays which are also on the flag. Each ray is of two colours, one, orange representing bravery, and the other, white representing peace. The two-colored rays also represent the two chains of atolls, the Ratak (sunrise) and the Ralik (sunset).

Above the angel's wing are a stylized fishing net, fish being the main staple of the diet of the Marshallese people, and a pandanus leaf pounder, usually made out of a giant clam shell (and used for softening Pandanus leaves in preparation of weaving mats and sails.

The bottom third of the seal field represents the ocean, with a coral lagoonal island with stylized coconut palms on the left and a stylized sailing outrigger canoe. Below the angel, set in the sea, ia wapepe stickchart, symbolising the traditional roots and skills that will navigate the young nation. Under the stick chart is the word "SEAL".

Around the outer edges are the words "Republic of the Marshall Islands" and at the bottom, "Jepilpilin ke ejukaan". The rim of the seal is a link chain representing that the islands are all linked together, half of the chain representing the Ralik group and the other half the Ratak.


Seal of the Republic of the Marshall Islands

Dirk H.R. Spennemann, Institute of Land, Water and Society, Charles Sturt University, P.O.Box 789, Albury NSW 2640, Australia.

select from the following...

Marshall Islands Kosrae CNMI Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Guam Wake Pohnpei FSM Federated States of Micronesia Yap Chuuk Marshall Islands politics public health environment culture WWII history literature XXX Cultural Heritage Management Micronesian Journal of the Humanities and Social Sciences CNMI German Colonial Sources Mariana Islands Historic Preservation Spennemann Dirk Spennemann Dirk HR Spennemann Murray Time Louis Becke Jane Downing Downing